Priority 4

CLLD Regional development at the local level

Priority 4 Interreg Italy Austria CLLD Local Development. Group of ants form a bridge from one leaf to another.

A different approach

What is CLLD?

The fourth priority differs from the others, particularly in the type of participatory approach. CLLD stands for “Community-Led Local Development” and translates to a “bottom-up” approach to local development that involves citizens at the forefront of the management of activities and decision-making processes.

In this way, participatory democracy is strengthened and peripheral communities become the centerpiece and source of initiatives to enhance the border area.

Interreg V Italy-Austria was a pioneer in experimenting with this type of approach in the 2014-2020 period as it was the only program in Europe to make it a priority. Having proven its effectiveness, it was therefore selected for the seven-year period 2021-2027 to follow it through.

Through CLLD, small-scale (up to 50,000 euros) and medium-scale (up to 200,000 euros) projects are financed that fit within the framework of four cross-border development strategies traced back to four selected areas (see below: CLLD territories). This allows for much more targeted interventions capable of responding to the needs of local populations. In the 2014-2020 programming period, about 200 CLLD projects with a total value of about €11,2 million were funded.

Calls for submitting projects through the open call system are posted on the respective websites of the four cross-border strategies: Terra Raetica, Wipptal, Dolomiti Live, and HEurOpen.

Priority 4 Interreg Italy Austria CLLD Local Development. Group of people in a circle @Credits by Shutterstock, Inc.

The mission of CLLD is to ensure joint dialogue to identify obstacles and bring solutions that cross borders and/or enable the development of common potentials. This has the overarching goal of strengthening integration and promoting integrated social, economic and environmental development, and cultural heritage at the local level.

CLLD territories autonomously identify their areas of intervention through the mechanism of collecting needs and proposals “from below” which is typical of this approach. CLLD territories’ priorities link directly to the priorities of the European Union, funding initiatives that respond to territorial needs that only local actors are able to define. Areas covered include tourism, culture, multilingualism, and the promotion of so-called “smart villages”.

The main beneficiaries within CLLD areas are the plurality of actors in the area who can take action on the specific issues identified by the territorial strategy: from nature associations to small businesses, from local authorities to research centers, from educational institutions to cultural associations, and so forth.

See all CLLD documents.

Go to the documents

Cross-border strategies

CLLD territories

The development strategies cover four different geographical areas and each focuses on the specific needs of the area in question. They are implemented through the action of LAGs – Local Action Groups, the main element in coordinating and implementing these strategies.



of cooperation







Focus on projects

Success stories

Interreg V-A IT-AT



Climate change has a great impact on alpine terrain conditions and poses new challenges for people who frequen(...)

Area Dolomiti Live

Interreg V-A IT-AT



This small-scale project, which took place in the Dolomites Live region, aims to combat sexual discrimination (...)

Area Dolomiti Live

Interreg V-A IT-AT



According to the World Diversity Council IPBES report released in May 2019, more than one million plant and an(...)

Area Dolomiti Live

Interreg V-A IT-AT



The promotion of musical culture in the CLLD HEurOpen area is the focus of the Via della Musica project, with (...)

Area HEurOpen